Tex goes to Hollywood (15th July 2013)

Back in May, I got through to a show on RTE Radio to take part in a quiz. When they asked me what I had gotten up to for the weekend I explained that I had been at a side saddle weekend in Kilkenny. Intrigued, the presenter asked me to explain more about side saddle, so of course off I took off chatting all about it. Listening in that day in RTE was a lady named Martina McGlynn who was in the middle of making a low budget movie in Offaly, set in 1920s Ireland (during the War of Independence).  It was called ‘A Nightingale Falling’. She got my contact details and rang me to tell me about the film and to ask whether I would be interested in advising them on a possible side saddle scene in the film! Immediately I offered to bring my own horse Tex (Texas Diamond) and all of my vintage gear. Initially she asked the director to just film a short sequence of one of the actresses riding down the avenue of the house but when the second lead actress in the film heard about it she begged to be allowed to ride side saddle too and the scriptwriter ended up writing a whole scene around it. I asked my friend Hanna in Laois whether she would be interested in supplying her horse Filip (show name Fairflax) and she readily agreed. Another friend of mine, Emily, kindly lent her saddle and habit to be used as well.

On the 15th of July we loaded up the two horses and gear into Hanna’s jeep and set off for Daingean. At this stage Charlotte was just six weeks old so Rachel came along to babysit 🙂  We met Tara and Muireann (the actresses) and introduced them to the horses. They were so excited getting dressed in all the gear and bowler hats! They looked absolutely STUNNING.

film2

film

They had to ride up and down the avenue a couple of times to be filmed from different angles. Filip got a bit bored and started pawing the ground and nipping Tex, he is such a show off 🙂  Tara and Muireann were ad libbing all the way through but it turned out absolutely great. Martina is hoping that the film will do the rounds of the film festivals and be shown in Irish cinemas too. Here’s hoping!

I had almost forgotten about it until the film trailer clip came up on You Tube, you can see it here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HkzyLp5K4Dw

One thought on “Tex goes to Hollywood (15th July 2013)

Leave a Reply

