Back in the saddle- a brief history from Summer 2010- Winter 2012!

A horror fall off a young horse in June 2010 resulted in a broken bone in my back and I spent a LONG time in hospital followed by months in a brace from my chin to my hips, I was out of action for 18 months!

So in the blink of an eye I went from eventing (albeit at a very low level)…

ImageImageImage

 

… to lying flat on my back for a long time 😦 

During that time, Tex went in foal by A.I. to a beautiful 14.2 hand Connemara stallion called ‘Burning Daylight’ 

ImageImage

 

and on 1st June 2011 produced a gorgeous colt foal called George 

Image

ImageImage

Image

 

George is now two years old and will start his education next summer when he is three and I’m hoping he will make a nice hunter/eventer/side saddle horse in a few years time.  

I had completely lost my nerve but my  sister Emma encouraged me to get back in the saddle, I have to admit that this photo also helped!

Image

I rode my pony Becky first, this is me on Becky- she’s small so at least it was only a short distance to the ground if I had to bail out 😉  … 

Image

 

And before I knew it, George had been weaned off Tex. I was back on board my lovely mare that December. 

Next thing I knew, Susan Oakes from Co. Meath rang me to let me know that there was a special Side Saddle Hunt organised for the coming month! I had originally bought my saddle from Susan and she knew that I had hunted side saddle for the 2008/2009 season as well as the 09/10 season with the Kilkenny Foxhounds. She gave me the motivation to get back up and riding properly to get hunting fit for the occasion. Before I even knew what I was agreeing to , I had signed up for the hunt! I didn’t sleep for days in the run up to it!!! 

3 thoughts on “Back in the saddle- a brief history from Summer 2010- Winter 2012!

Leave a Reply

